VolkerHighways’ Medway team wins International CSR Excellence Award

Congratulations to VolkerHighways’ Medway team who, after competing against more than 100 other nominees, have been awarded an International CSR Excellence Award, by The Green Organisation, for their great work within the local community.

CSR Award_web.jpg
CSR Award_web_border.jpg

The team has been collaborating with Medway Council on their highways maintenance contract since 2007 and during that time they have supported a wide range of initiatives in the area, including:

  • Sponsoring the KM Charity Team’s ‘Walk to School’ scheme
  • Inviting local school children to name a fleet of winter maintenance gritters
  •  Planting trees with the Academy of Woodlands
  • Sponsoring a local under 10s football team

Chris Jarry, health and safety manager for VolkerHighways, said: “A huge congratulations to the team, on this fantastic achievement. This really is a true reflection of the great work they do with the Medway community and they should be very proud.”

Sohail Hussain, project manager for VolkerHighways, said: “The team here work very hard to maintain an active role in the local community and over the years we have had some great experiences, undertaking social value projects with the people of Medway. It is very rewarding to see this work being recognised and I look forward to celebrating with the team in July!”

Miles Durrant, environmental advisor for VolkerHighways, said: “Well done to the team who deserve this recognition for their innovative engagements with the community and setting an excellent example of the social value that can be achieved by highways maintenance contracts.”

Cllr Phil Filmer, Medway Council’s portfolio holder for frontline services, said: “I would like to congratulate the team on their achievement. We are pleased to have been working with VolkerHighways for a number of years on a variety of projects and we’re thrilled that their hard work has been recognised.”

The winners’ trophy will be presented at a glittering award ceremony on 22 July, at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Arts, London.